Keferloher Stone Mug

Jetzt bestellen
What is a "Keferloher"?

A Keferloher is usually known in Bavaria as a cylindrical, salt-glazed stone ware beer mug (tankard, stein) of grayish or brownish color, which is particularly well suited for beer drinking owing to its favorable characteristics. Due to the stone ware's isolating effect, the beer keeps chilled much longer. Its structured surface, which builds by adding salt during the process of firing, keeps the carbon acid longer in the drink and thus fresh many times over.



The Keferloher's origin

The Keferloher beer mug is a piece of living Bavarian tradition. It was once common wherever beer flowed freely - at fairs and large markets. Already since the late Middle Ages people enjoyed their beer from Keferloher mugs.
This drinking vessel has its origin in Keferloh, today a part of Grasbrunn nearby Munich. Since the Middle Ages one of the biggest cattle markets in southern Germany was held here and the visitors already enjoyed their beer from earthenware mugs.
Its immense popularity in Bavaria - then as now - is proven by the fact that even today many regulars' tables drink their beer from their own Keferloher mugs. Even at the Oktoberfest in Munich the beer was served predominantly in Keferloher mugs until about 35 years ago before they were replaced by glas mugs. One of the main reasons for this was, that customers couldn't check whether they were paying full for a handful of foam with just a mouthful of beer in it.
Keferloher Stone Mug (1 litre): 9.- € + shipping costs -> order now

English Version  Deutsche Version 
Order  |  Contact XHTML 1.0 Transitional validiert - check it!

Keferloher Steinkrug

Jetzt bestellen
Was ist ein "Keferloher"?

Als Keferloher bezeichnet man üblicherweise einen zylindrischen, grauen, salzglasierten Steinzeug-Bierkrug, der sich dank seiner Eigenschaften besonders für den Biergenuss eignet. Durch die isolierende Wirkung des Tons bleibt das Bier länger kühl und aufgrund der strukturierten Oberfläche, die durch Zugabe von Salz während des Brennvorgangs erzeugt wird, bleibt die Kohlensäure länger im Getränk und das Bier somit länger frisch.



Der Ursprung des Keferlohers

Der Keferloher Bierkrug ist ein Stück Tradition in Bayern. Der steinerne Tonkrug mit dem klangvollen Namen war einst überall dort verbreitet, wo reichlich Bier floß - auf Volksfesten und großen Märkten. Schon seit dem späten Mittelalter sollen die Menschen aus dem Keferloher ihr Bier genossen haben.
Dieses Trinkgefäß hat seinen Ursprung in Keferloh, heute ein Ortsteil von Grasbrunn in der Nähe Münchens. Dort fand seit dem Mittelalter einer der größten Viehmärkte im süddeutschen Raum statt und die Besucher ließen sich das Bier aus den Irdenmaßkrügen schmecken.
Wie beliebt der Keferloher bei den Bayern einst war und noch immer ist, zeigt sich daran, dass auch heute noch viele Stammtische ihre Maß aus dem eigenen Keferloher trinken. Und selbst auf der Wiesn wurde bis vor gut 35 Jahren das Bier noch überwiegend im Keferloher ausgeschenkt, bevor er schließlich durch die gläsernen Maßkrüge ersetzt wurde. Einer der Hauptgründe für den Austausch der Krüge sicherlich, dass man als Gast nicht kontrollieren konnte, ob man nicht für eine große Handvoll Schaum mit etwas Bier bezahlte.
Keferloher Steinkrug (1 Liter): 18,00.- € + Versand -> jetzt bestellen

English Version  Deutsche Version 
Bestellen  |  Kontakt XHTML 1.0 Transitional validiert - check it!